Communication in energy information networks

Internally funded project


Project Details

Project leader:
Prof. Dr. Reinhard German
Dr.-Ing. Kai-Steffen Hielscher

Project members:
Lorenz Ammon

Contributing FAU Organisations:
Computer Science 7 (Computer Networks and Communication Systems)

Start date: 01/04/2017


Research Fields

Quality of Service
Computer Science 7 (Computer Networks and Communication Systems)
Smart Energy
Computer Science 7 (Computer Networks and Communication Systems)


Abstract (technical / expert description):

The electrical energy network is in a state of change due to the digitization and integration of decentralized energy sources. Pervasive and interconnected sensors and actuators are creating complex virtual control systems.
Based on an efficient communication network, innovative services and applications can provide an ecological, economical, stable and high-quality energy supply. A particular challenge are the diverse requirements and traffic patterns of applications that may be distributed over large areas and time critical.
The object of this research project is the replacement of proprietary solutions by a programmable communication network with standard components. These enable economical operation and high compatibility, individual requirements are fulfilled by software. The overarching goal is to make optimal use of the infrastructure of the energy and communication networks and to minimize over-provisioning.

Last updated on 2019-25-02 at 15:48

Kommunikation in Energieinformationsnetzen

Eigenmittelfinanziertes Projekt


Details zum Projekt

Projektleiter/in:
Prof. Dr. Reinhard German
Dr.-Ing. Kai-Steffen Hielscher

Projektbeteiligte:
Lorenz Ammon

Beteiligte FAU-Organisationseinheiten:
Lehrstuhl für Informatik 7 (Rechnernetze und Kommunikationssysteme)

Projektstart: 01.04.2017


Forschungsbereiche

Quality-of-Service
Lehrstuhl für Informatik 7 (Rechnernetze und Kommunikationssysteme)
Smart Energy
Lehrstuhl für Informatik 7 (Rechnernetze und Kommunikationssysteme)


Abstract (fachliche Beschreibung):

Das elektrische Energienetz befindet sich durch Digitalisierung und Integration dezentraler Energiequellen im Wandel. Die Durchdringung und informationstechnische Vernetzung mit Sensorik und Aktorik lassen komplexe virtuelle Steuerungssysteme entstehen.
Liegt dem ein leistungsfähiges Kommunikationsnetz zugrunde, können innovative Dienste und Anwendungen eine ökologische, ökonomische, stabile und hochwertige Energieversorgung ermöglichen. Die vielfältigen, teils echtzeitkritischen, Anforderungen und Verkehrsmuster der gegebenenfalls großräumig verteilten Anwendungen stellen dabei eine besondere Herausforderung dar.
Untersuchungsgegenstand dieses Forschungsprojekts ist der Ersatz proprietärer Lösungen durch ein programmierbares Kommunikationsnetz mit Standardkomponenten. Diese ermöglichen einen wirtschaftlichen Betrieb und hohe Kompatibilität, individuellen Anforderungen werden durch Software erfüllt. Übergeordnetes Ziel ist dabei, die Infrastruktur der Energie- und Kommunikationsnetze gleichermaßen optimal zu nutzen und Überdimensionierung zu minimieren.

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2019-25-02 um 15:48