Activity Development of high temperature alloys

Internally funded project


Project Details

Project leader:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Carolin Körner


Contributing FAU Organisations:
Lehrstuhl für Werkstoffwissenschaften (Werkstoffkunde und Technologie der Metalle)

Start date: 01/01/1990


Research Fields

High Temperature Materials
Lehrstuhl für Werkstoffwissenschaften (Werkstoffkunde und Technologie der Metalle)


Abstract (technical / expert description):


We focuse on the development of new alloys for the requirements of industry as well as on clarifying scientific questions. Numerical tools based on CALPHAD (Calculation of Phase Diagrams) calculations as well as further property modeling approaches are used to predict thermomechanical properties of the materials and to optimize them in terms of the desired characteristics. For this purpose the software tool MultOpt was developed. In general, the potential of promising alloys are a compromise between various relevant properties, which are represented in the form of Pareto fronts. The user can decide which alloy is fitting best by weighting up the importance of the conflicting properties. The numerically determined alloy is then cast by an institute own Bridgman furnace. The numerical tool HeatOpt, a coupling of CALPHAD with the phase field method, is used to determine suitable heat treatment parameters, which are applied after alloy manufacturing. Furthermore, the alloys are characterized in terms of their microstructures and mechanical properties. The values determined experimentally are compared with the previously calculated values and an adaptation of the respective numerical modeling is carried out for data with a large discrepancy.


Publications
Go to first page Go to previous page 4 of 4 Go to next page Go to last page

Volek, A., & Singer, R. (2004). Influence of solidification conditions on TCP phase formation, casting porosity and high temperature mechanical properties in a Re-containing nickel-base superalloy with columnar grain structure. In K. Green, H. Harada, T.E. Howson, T.M. Pollock, R.C. Reed, J.J. Schirra, S. Walston (Eds.), Superalloys 2004: Proceedings of the 10th Intenational Symposium of Superalloys (pp. 713-718). Seven Springs, US: Minerals, Metals and Materials Society.
Volek, A. (2002). Erstarrungsmikrostruktur und Hochtemperatureigenschaften rheniumhaltiger, stängelkristalliner Nickel-Basis-Superlegierungen (Dissertation).
Pyczak, F., Biermann, H., Mughrabi, H., Volek, A., & Singer, R. (2000). CBED-Measurement of Residual Internal Strains in the Neighbourhood of TCP-Phases in Ni-Base Superalloys. In K. Green, T. M. Pollock, R. Kissinger, R.R. Bowman, K.A. Green, M. McLean, S. Olson, J.J. Schirra (Eds.), Superalloys 2000: Proceedings of the 9th Intenational Symposium of Superalloys (pp. 367-376). Seven Springs: TMS.

Last updated on 2019-03-05 at 11:42

Arbeitsgebiet Entwicklung von Hochtemperaturlegierungen

Eigenmittelfinanziertes Projekt


Details zum Projekt

Projektleiter/in:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Robert Singer


Beteiligte FAU-Organisationseinheiten:
Lehrstuhl für Werkstoffwissenschaften (Werkstoffkunde und Technologie der Metalle)

Projektstart: 01.01.1990


Forschungsbereiche

Hochtemperaturwerkstoffe
Lehrstuhl für Werkstoffwissenschaften (Werkstoffkunde und Technologie der Metalle)


Abstract (fachliche Beschreibung):


Der Lehrstuhl WTM betreibt Legierungsentwicklung sowohl im Hinblick auf aktuelle technische Herausforderungen wie auch zu Klärung grundlegender wissenschaftlicher Fragestellungen. Dabei werden nummerische Tools basierend auf CALPHAD (Calculation of Phase Diagrams) Berechnungen sowie weitere Eigenschaftsmodellierungsansätze verwendet, um die thermomechanischen Anforderungen an die Werkstoffe abzubilden und in Bezug auf die gewünschten Eigenschaften zu optimieren. Dafür wurde speziell ein eigenes Programm, MultOpt, entwickelt. Grundsätzlich sind die potenziellen Ziellegierungen ein Kompromiss verschiedener relevanter Eigenschaften, die in Form von Pareto-Fronten dargestellt und je noch Priorität der Eigenschaften stärker zugunsten der entscheidenden Eigenschaft ausgewählt werden. Die numerisch bestimmte Legierung wird anschließend schmelzmetallurgisch hergestellt und mittels institutseigener Gießanlagen abgegossen. Die hergestellten Legierungen werden wärmebehandelt, wobei wiederum ein numerisches Tool, HeatOpt, eine Koppelung von CALPHAD mit der Phasenfeldmethode, zu Bestimmung geeigneter Wärmebehandlungsparameter eingesetzt wird. Weiterhin wird die Legierung bezüglich ihrer Mikrostruktur und mechanischer Eigenschaften charakterisiert. Die experimentell ermittelten Werte werden mit den vorher berechneten Werten verglichen und bei größerer Diskrepanz eine Anpassung der jeweiligen numerischen Modellbildung vorgenommen.


Publikationen
Go to first page Go to previous page 4 von 4 Go to next page Go to last page

Volek, A., & Singer, R. (2004). Influence of solidification conditions on TCP phase formation, casting porosity and high temperature mechanical properties in a Re-containing nickel-base superalloy with columnar grain structure. In K. Green, H. Harada, T.E. Howson, T.M. Pollock, R.C. Reed, J.J. Schirra, S. Walston (Eds.), Superalloys 2004: Proceedings of the 10th Intenational Symposium of Superalloys (pp. 713-718). Seven Springs, US: Minerals, Metals and Materials Society.
Volek, A. (2002). Erstarrungsmikrostruktur und Hochtemperatureigenschaften rheniumhaltiger, stängelkristalliner Nickel-Basis-Superlegierungen (Dissertation).
Pyczak, F., Biermann, H., Mughrabi, H., Volek, A., & Singer, R. (2000). CBED-Measurement of Residual Internal Strains in the Neighbourhood of TCP-Phases in Ni-Base Superalloys. In K. Green, T. M. Pollock, R. Kissinger, R.R. Bowman, K.A. Green, M. McLean, S. Olson, J.J. Schirra (Eds.), Superalloys 2000: Proceedings of the 9th Intenational Symposium of Superalloys (pp. 367-376). Seven Springs: TMS.

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2018-15-10 um 11:54