Hybrid Co-Simulation Framework

Internally funded project


Project Details

Project leader:
Dr.-Ing. Anatoli Djanatliev
Prof. Dr. Reinhard German

Project members:
Moritz Gütlein

Contributing FAU Organisations:
Computer Science 7 (Computer Networks and Communication Systems)

Start date: 01/11/2017


Research Fields

Connected Mobility
Computer Science 7 (Computer Networks and Communication Systems)


Abstract (technical / expert description):

Simulation is a decent method to study, evaluate, and validate upcoming technologies and algorithms. In order to generate realistic results, it is necessary to overcome different challenges. One of these challenges is the computational feasibility of holistic simulation scenarios, especially when it comes to large-scale setups. These scenarios may model a whole city or even an entire country. Besides performance problems, adequate modeling of real world scenarios often requires the combination of multiple simulation tools from different domains. This combination often requires the connection of different modeling paradigms. Other challenges tasks are the time synchronization of the different simulation tools and the data exchange between them.
To solve these problems, a hybrid co-simulation framework is developed in this project. The Framework uses an implementation of High Level Architecture (HLA, IEEE1516) as a middleware and enables the dynamic composition of a simulation setup that matches current requirements. The composition takes place in two dimensions. In a vertical dimension, multi-level support empowers the simulation at different levels of detail, corresponding to the demands regarding performance, available data, or posed questions. In a horizontal dimension, the coupling of tools from different domains is enabled. The focus on extendability makes it possible to add any needed tools at a later point in time to the framework.


Publications

Gütlein, M., German, R., & Djanatliev, A. (2018). Towards a Hybrid Co-Simulation Framework: HLA-Based Coupling of MATSim and SUMO. In Eva Besada, Óscar Rodríguez Polo, Robson De Grande, José Luis Risco (Eds.), Proceedings of the 2018 IEEE/ACM 22st International Symposium on Distributed Simulation and Real Time Applications (DS-RT) (pp. 1-9). Madrid, ES: IEEE.

Last updated on 2019-29-03 at 16:51

Hybrides Co-Simulations Framework

Eigenmittelfinanziertes Projekt


Details zum Projekt

Projektleiter/in:
Dr.-Ing. Anatoli Djanatliev
Prof. Dr. Reinhard German

Projektbeteiligte:
Moritz Gütlein

Beteiligte FAU-Organisationseinheiten:
Lehrstuhl für Informatik 7 (Rechnernetze und Kommunikationssysteme)

Projektstart: 01.11.2017


Forschungsbereiche

Connected Mobility
Lehrstuhl für Informatik 7 (Rechnernetze und Kommunikationssysteme)


Abstract (fachliche Beschreibung):

Simulation ist ein adäquates Mittel, welches erlaubt neuartige Technologien und Algorithmen zu untersuchen, zu evaluieren und zu validieren. Um zu realistischen Ergebnissen zu gelangen, ist es erforderlich diverse Herausforderungen zu meistern. Eine dieser Herausforderungen stellt die  Durchführbarkeit der Berechnung von ganzheitlichen Simulationszenarien dar. Dies gilt vor allem, wenn Szenarien betrachtet werden sollen, die beispielsweise eine ganze Stadt, oder gar ein ganzes Land modellieren. Neben Betrachtungen der Performanz, bedarf die angemessene Modellierung von Szenarien der echten Welt meist der Kombination verschiedener Simulationswerkzeuge. Oft stammen die kombinierten Werkzeuge aus verschiedenen Domänen. Das führt dazu, dass ihre Kombination im Allgemeinen auch die Verbindung unterschiedlicher Modellierungsparadigmen erfordert. Zwei weitere Herausforderungen stellen die Zeitsynchronisation beteiligter Tools und der Datenaustausch zwischen den Tools dar.
Um diese Problemstellungen zu lösen, wird im Rahmen dieses Projekts ein hybrides Co-Simulations Framework entwickelt. Das Framework nutzt eine Implementierung der High Level Architecture (HLA, IEEE1516) als Middleware und erlaubt die dynamische Komposition eines Simulations-Setups, welches den bestehenden Anforderungen entspricht. Die Komposition erfolgt in zwei Dimensionen. In einer vertikalen Dimension gestattet Multi-Level Unterstützung die Simulation zu verschiedenen Detailgraden. Dies erfolgt je nach Anforderungen bezüglich Performanz, bestehender Datengrundlage und den formulierten Fragestellungen. In einer horizontalen Dimension erfolgt die Modellierung der domänenübergreifenden Kopplung von Simulationswerkzeugen. Der Fokus auf Erweiterbarkeit stellt sicher, dass die nachträgliche Eingliederung benötigter Simulationstools in das Framework ermöglicht wird.


Publikationen

Gütlein, M., German, R., & Djanatliev, A. (2018). Towards a Hybrid Co-Simulation Framework: HLA-Based Coupling of MATSim and SUMO. In Eva Besada, Óscar Rodríguez Polo, Robson De Grande, José Luis Risco (Eds.), Proceedings of the 2018 IEEE/ACM 22st International Symposium on Distributed Simulation and Real Time Applications (DS-RT) (pp. 1-9). Madrid, ES: IEEE.

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2019-29-03 um 16:51